North Dakota Seat Belt Law
- All front seat occupants must be properly buckled up regardless of age.
- All occupants younger than 18 must be properly restrained regardless of their location in a vehicle.
- Children younger than 8 years of age are required to ride in a child restraint (car seat or booster seat).
- A correctly used seat belt may be substituted for children younger than 8 years of age who are at least 4'9" tall.
Most people who drive and ride in motor vehicles in North Dakota understand how important it is to wear a seat belt. An annual survey of observed seat belt use in North Dakota in 2017 showed that 8 out of every 10 people wear a seat belt. But it is those who do not wear seat belts who are much more likely to lose their life in a crash.